Coconut Pancakes

For breakfast this morning, I made coconut pancakes. I based my recipe off of Cheeseslave’s Coconut Flour Pancakes. I didn’t have coconut flour so I used a combo of powdered and flaked coconut. To compensate for the increased fat content from coconut, I reduced the eggs for three to two and the butter from three tablespoons to two tablespoons. The recipe says to add some milk or coconut milk but I forgot this step :P.  I used butter for the frying. I ended up with four pancakes. They tasted rich and coconuty- maybe a little too much due to lack of milk?. I ate them plain but they would probably taste even better with some sweet toppings to offset the richness of the pancakes. I’ll top them with plain whipped cream and maybe some berries when I make them again. And I’ll try to remember to add some milk to the batter.

Coconut Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons powdered coconut
  • 1 tablespoon flaked coconut
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 3 tablespoons coconut milk/milk*
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • sweetener to taste (I didn’t use any but 1-2 tsp is probably good)

*My batter was on the liquidy side even without milk. Increase the amount of coconut if needed.

Steps

1. Mix all ingredients until smooth.

2. Using medium or medium-low heat, heat fat or cooking oil of choice in pan. Spoon 2-3 tbsp batter onto pan.

3. Flip when underside of pancake is golden brown and/or when bubbles pop on side of pancake facing up.

4. Repeat for other pancakes. Add extra oil or fat if needed.

5. Top with toppings and eat!

batter in pan

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

